31.8 C
Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Alfred Brownell awarded the Goldman Environmental Prize

The world’s largest award honouring grassroots environmental activists is the Goldman Environmental Prize. An environmental lawyer and activist, Mr Brownell, was awarded the Goldman Environmental Prize who has exposed the alleged abuse of the palm oil company Golden Veroleum Liberia and helped in preventing it from getting converted to the barren land of about 50 km2 of forest which is home to elephants, pygmy hippopotamuses and chimpanzees.

Mr Brownell whose works of saving forest lands have made him win the Goldman prize. Along with him, another five activists have also been awarded for their grassroots environmental activism. By philanthropists Richard and Rhoda Goldman this prize was created in 1989. From the nominations made by environmental organizations and others, the winners are selected. This prize carries a $200,000 award. The other five activists are:

To successfully prevent the construction of North America’s largest oil terminal, Linda Garcia of Vancouver, Washington, has rallied to local communities.

The seven-year campaign of Ana Colovic Lesoska of North Macedonia has helped to stop hydroelectric projects from being built in the country’s largest national park.

Bayarjargal Agvaantseren of Mongolia has led the fight to create the Tost Tosonbumba Nature Reserve.

Jacqueline Evans of the Cook Islands, work has led to the conservation & sustainable management the Cook Islands’ ocean territory as well as the creation of 15 marine protected areas.

Alberto Curamil of Chile had protested several hydroelectric projects in the country is a jailed indigenous activist.

The Goldman Environmental Prize has completed 30 years.

Related posts

Parents Relief Plan: UAE Schools Reduce Fee by 20 Percent


Delhi schools will now have class- specific book on Happiness curriculum


Every 40 Seconds one suicide is reported | World Suicide Prevention Day

Kanan Shah

Leave a Comment