23.9 C
Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Delhi schools will now have class- specific book on Happiness curriculum

parenting skills

Happiness Curriculum, the flagship programme of the Delhi government, will be introduced as class-specific handbooks in 44 government schools. This curriculum will be taught now from eight handbooks designed for each class as a part of a one-month pilot project. Between April 12 and May 10, these new handbooks will be tried out in the schools spread across the districts of Delhi in areas like West Vinod Nagar, Yamuna Vihar, Padam Nagar, Khera Khurd, Shalimar Bagh and Nangloi. So far the curriculum is comprised of a set of three books:

  • The first book for class 1 and 2
  • The second book for class 3, 4, and 5
  • Third book for class 6, 7, and 8

The nursery and kindergarten students were taught twice a week and students from classes 1 to 8 spent one period a day to engage in meditation, storytelling, and activity sessions, under the curriculum. Story-telling and activities are included in this curriculum followed by question-answer sessions.

The revised curriculum has reduced story-based questions laying more emphasis on reflective questions, according to members of the Happiness Curriculum committee. As a part of the revised curriculum, students will also be introduced to “mindful walking and eating”. They should know to appreciate food & taste and also the hard work that goes behind it.

Related posts

Schools Locked | Brainfeed national survey on lockdown

Kanan Shah

Jerrie Cobb, NASA’s 1st female astronaut candidate passes away at 88


Learning during COVID-19: Barter System Returns to Education in Bihar

Kanan Shah

Leave a Comment